top of page

Steve Hanley at The Whiskey Jar, Manchester

Updated: Aug 4, 2023

On Monday 22nd July I'm playing with a great new band I'm really excited about .We are playing for NQ JAZZ at The Whiskey Jar on Tarriff Street, Manchester, a brilliant jazz venue run by some fantastic musicians, for musicians. The band is led by one of the most exciting young drummers I've heard in a while, Steve Hanley. Steve is an encyclopedia of jazz drummers and yet, you are never quite sure what he is going to play, this to me is the essence of jazz and it's certainly an adventure every time we play together. The music is deeply atmospheric with emphasis on a real group dynamic, the nature of the music is that everyone is improvising all of the time around the framework of the written music. Guitarist Jamie Taylor brings a broad pallette of sound to the band. I particularly enjoy the high unisons we play together where I can barely hear myself, very exciting! Richard Jones is on piano and has only recently come into my musical orbit, he is a real talent who brings depth and spontaneity to the music and is a constant presence in the music shaping the sound and groove. It would be great to see you there at our premier gig. Here is a preview https://youtu.be/HSSNq0Ptsfg

35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Anyone heard Palle Mikkleborg play the trumpet?

I first heard Palle Mikkleborg on an ECM album by Terje Rypdel called Descendre that I got from a bargain bin at Jumbo Records in Leeds when I was a student there. I was immediately taken with his sou

bottom of page